let me introduce myself…

 

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Well hi there! If it isn’t totally obvious at this point, my name is Natalie (Katherine being my middle). Welcome to my world! I’d like to start off with a little introduction to myself and my hopes for this blog. I am currently in the midst of that extremely awkward time in life after college graduation when it feels like you have no clear direction. Now I know that some college grads flow quickly and freely right into the workplace, and many feel confident about their next step in life the second they take off their graduation cap, but I am definitely not that person. In fact, I am the total opposite.

I spent my last semester of college studying abroad and living in Madrid, Spain, and came home to the US with no plan. I had majored in Spanish, and started working a bilingual office job. It quickly became clear that a position of that type was not for me, so I quit, and became a full time nanny. Nanny life is interesting and frustrating and stressful, but it’s also pretty rewarding… let’s just say I’m taking it day by day.

But deep down, I’ve been having a hard time getting into the flow of this after-college life. Who am I? Why do I feel like I’m the only one who doesn’t have it all together? Will my house ever look like a Real Simple magazine? (I know the answer to that one – no. Because no one’s house looks like that. But I can try… and fail.) I’m figuring that if I’m feeling this way, there are probably a million other chicks (and dudes) out there that aren’t jivin’ with their early-twenties either. So, what’s my solution? Let’s try to figure this shit out! In recent research, I’ve discovered a whole slew of podcasts, books, blogs, magazine articles, and more that are geared towards people that are in the same rut I am. But my main issue with all that content is that it’s created by folks who DO have everything figured out. Sure, they probably went through an uninspired, what-the-f-am-I-doing period like this one, but they didn’t care to share until they had moved past it. I want to hear from those in the midst of it! So, here I am!

That being said, don’t worry – this isn’t going to be a self-help blog. Like I said, I’m your average 22-year old girl – I love products and makeup and pretty desk accessories and going on adventures and eating everything and drinking wine. This blog just might look a little different than what you’re used to. I’m not really into designer clothes or purses (unless I found them at TJ Maxx or Nordstrom Rack which are my shizzz), and I prefer to get my high-end makeup and skincare products from sample boxes and free promotions. I have a vegan boyfriend and I totally see/feel the benefits when I eat plant-based foods, but I also sometimes (a lot of times) will just go for it and have pizza and a milkshake (and then I’ll reap the consequences… because my tummy will be absolutely pissed). I’m not subscribing to any labels, but I’ll say this…

I’m a twenty-something girl from Madison, WI who’s trying to get it together and be my best self, while saving money, hoarding samples and being an organized disaster.

PS My cat is my best friend so if you are a cat-hater, paz y amor y adios!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Leave a Reply

