january sephora play box review

IMG_3609.JPG

As I’ve said in a previous post, I had some major drama with my December Sephora Play Box (lol that I call that major drama), so it’s been a whopping 2 months since I received a Play Box – therefore I was doubly excited this month when the clearly recognizable black-and-white-striped box showed up in my entryway! The theme this time around was products to make you GLOW, and let me tell you, I really needed some help in that department!

IMG_3599.JPG

I wish that one month the products were somewhat color-coordinated… they just never look cute together (the struggle, right?!) Anyway, here coming my GLOWING REVIEWS…

IMG_3600.JPG

I had never heard of the Tarte Frxxxtion Stick Exfoliating Cleanser before receiving it in my box, so when I opened it I was like wuuuuuuuuut… it looks like a black glue stick! Once reading about it in my handy dandy Play Book, I was excited to give it a try. I was surprised by how rough the texture was on my face because it looks like such a smooth stick, and I was a little terrified when it actually came out as a black color, but after massaging it around and rinsing it off, I could tell this product was gold (maybe that’s why they gave it a gold top huh?!). After reading reviews, I later applied this cleanser on my face before hopping in the shower and left it on for the whole shower before rinsing it off at the end, and that gave me even better mask-like results. My favorite part about this cleanser stick is that it’s extremely travel-friendly (hooray for no liquid) and gym-bag friendly!

IMG_3610.JPG

Let me start off by saying that I have a total crush on the Ouai haircare brand. I love everything about Jen Atkin and her goal with this line – effortless, healthy hair that looks great too! I’m embarrassed to admit that I ended up leaving this Ouai Treatment Masque in my hair for over 24 hours because I just could not bring myself to shower (story of my life) but that ended up being a blessing in disguise because my hair was the softest it’s ever been after washing this out. Not to mention, it really wasn’t a big deal to leave it in for so long because for a mask, it has a surprisingly thin formula, and even after using the whole bottle, my hair was only slightly wet and actually looked cute and piecey up in a messy bun. I was disappointed to find out that Ouai only sells this mask in little packets, because when I go for a mask I REALLY go for it, and I know I would end up using a ton of the little packets just to coat my whole head, but the amazing results may just be worth that inconvenience.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

I am all about sheer lip tints that go on easily but give my lips that little bit of color they need (let’s just say my lips basically disappear into my pale face when they’re bare… adorable, right?). I’ve been a big fan of Clinique Chubby Sticks for quite a while, and when I swatched this Clinique Almost Lipstick on my hand, I was a bit confused because it seems like basically the same product. The formula seems much more like a tinted lip balm than a lipstick, so I’m also slightly confused why it has the name “Almost Lipstick,” but that being said, I do really like this product. I received the color Black Honey, and it’s buildable with a perfect daytime-to-nighttime color, plus adds a nice dose of moisture to dry lips – also, bonus!, doesn’t cling on to dry skin! The biggest disappointment about this product is that it only comes in two colors, but that could have something to do with the large range of colors of the very similar Chubby Sticks.

IMG_3602.JPG

It Cosmetics Your Skin But Better CC+ Cream with SPF 50+ has been the talk of the town lately, so I was over-the-moon excited to see it in my box this month. This product claims to not only act as a color-correcting concealer and foundation, but also provide moisture, sun protection, and anti-aging properties. Unfortunately, the color I was sent was too dark for my winter skin, but I think it will be perfect for my summer face that has a little bit of a tan – and SPF of 50+ is also perfect for my summer months spent bringing the boys to tennis lessons and golf rounds!

IMG_3601.JPG

Drunk Elephant has been my “brand I’d love to try but can’t afford” for a hot second, so I legit gasped when I saw this Lala Retro Whipped Cream rolling around in the box. I was initially a bit worried, because a cream that describes itself as “whipped” generally lends the idea of a light, fluffy moisturizer, and that is NOT what my skin needs this winter. Luckily, as the Play Book states, this “rich-yet-whipped formula” packed my skin with moisture and left me more glowy than I had been in months! I am trying to only use this product every few days because I might shed a tear when it’s gone… that’s how much I love it. I’ve also been mainly using it in the mornings (can’t waste that glowy face on a dark room where only my kitty sees me… okay and my boyfriend but he thinks I’m glowy all the dang time), and although it’s deeply moisturizing, it soaks in quickly enough that I can go right on to doing my makeup after application.

IMG_3603.JPG

I love that Sephora does something a little different than other subscription boxes and includes a perfume every month… but I’m also very picky and get headaches from a lot of fragrances. When I read in the Play Book that this Tory Burch Love Relentlessly is in the floral family, I had an instant negative view of it. But since I’m a sample junkie and obviously had to give it a try, I held my breath, spritzed it on, and waited for disaster. When I finally gave it a sniff, it wasn’t nearly as grandma-y as I expected. The pink pepper top note adds a ton of spiciness, which helped carry the floral notes in a not-so-powerful way. While I wouldn’t buy this fragrance, it’s one of the only floral scents I can actually stand and might even wear on a night out.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Mini bonus in the Sephora Play Box each month is the cute bag – totally love this one. The coral ribbon and font are getting me so excited for spring!

What did you get in your January Sephora Play Box? I saw that some people got a Farmacy face mask, which made me SUPER jealous, but overall, I’m pretty happy with my box!

Leave a Reply

