current shower routine

While I’ll admit that I don’t love showering (my hair is NOT easy to deal with after being washed…), I do enjoy getting to try new products and take a few moments to myself. The products I use in my shower routine change often, whether that be seasonally or just in response to how my hair/face/body are acting. I thought I’d share my current routine, and introduce y’all to some of my favorite products!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

The first thing I do when I hop in the shower is shampoo my hair. Because of the dry, winter air, my hair has been very dry and frizzy, so I’ve been looking to any product that will smooth it out. Suave has a new line of smoothing products made with avocado and olive oil (Suave Professionals Avocado + Olive Oil Smoothing Shampoo), and they really smooth out my hair without weighing it down. They also have an amazing smell that makes me feel like I’m really nourishing my hair! I focus on my roots when I shampoo, because I can’t afford to strip the moisture from the ends.

After shampooing, I slap an entire handful (if not more) of conditioner (Suave Professionals Avocado + Olive Oil Smoothing Conditioner) all over my hair, concentrating on the ends. I need to use a LOT of conditioner in my hair to really make a difference, so I don’t like to use expensive products. This Suave line is extremely affordable (about $5 each) so I don’t feel bad squirting out so much for just one use.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

About once a week, I use a deep conditioner. If I remember, I’ll wet my hair and put on a deeper mask a few hours before I shower so it has more time to soak in, but if I forget I’ll just use the deep conditioner in the same way I use my normal conditioner. Even though I mostly straighten my hair, I find that masks formulated for curly hair (my natural hair texture) provide the deepest moisture and most smoothing properties. I love this new L’Oreal Extraordinary Oil Curls Re-Nourish Mask because it smells amazing and I feel like the oils really soak in, plus it’s under $5 for a huge tub!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

After putting in my conditioner, I usually put on a face mask to let sit for the rest of the shower. I like exfoliating masks that brighten and get rid of all the dead skin cells, and I’ve currently been loving It’s Time to Get Prepped Brightening Polishing Mask with Coconut. Unfortunately I can’t find this product to buy on the internet, but I got it at Nordstrom Rack and it was very affordable, as far as face masks go. I particularly like this one because it’s light and fresh and feels like it’s exfoliating while also moisturizing.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Once my face mask is on, the next step is washing my body. During a little Christmas shopping, I came across this Philosophy Señorita Margarita Shampoo, Shower Gel & Bubble Bath. While I would never use this as shampoo (too drying!), it is the most amazing smelling body wash I have ever used. The smell is extremely limey and fresh, so if you’re a fan of citrusy scents, you will love this! I can’t wait to use it as a bubble bath – I’m sure the smell will take over the room. The most disappointing thing about this product is that Philosophy doesn’t make any other products with this scent – ugh!

I’ve been loving in-shower/wet skin body moisturizers, and I’m just coming to the end of this Nivea Cocoa Butter In-Shower Body Lotion. You put it on at the end of your shower, and then rinse it off right before turning off the water and stepping out. Supposedly, the product quickly sinks in and traps some of the water already in your skin, allowing it to break the barrier and soak right in. I think next time I will buy a wet skin moisturizer (that you don’t wash off), but I did enjoy this product. I love any cocoa butter scent, and it was a source of added moisture when my winter skin needed it the most, but I don’t think it’s as moisturizing as wet skin products that don’t get washed off.

Lastly, I’ll rinse out my hair, and step out of the shower. I’ve been using the Suave Leave-In Avocado + Olive Oil Conditioning Cream (shown above), and it’s a nice, thin leave-in conditioner, though I do feel like I need to add a curl cream or something thicker along with it if I’m going to leave my hair curly.

What are your favorite shower products? I can’t wait to start transitioning into fresher, springy products in these upcoming months!

*I received these Suave products for free for testing purposes from Crowdtap, but all opinions are 100% my own!

Leave a Reply

