january birchbox review

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

My favorite part of Birchbox is that they offer the option of a curated box each month. These curated boxes go fast, but if you’re lucky enough to get one, it’s a definite treat! For these boxes, Birchbox collaborates with a brand/magazine/person/etc. to put together a collection of products surrounding that theme. For January, I had the opportunity to get the Self Magazine box, and I couldn’t be happier with it!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

I absolutely loved the design of this Self box. The theme was “New Year, New Perspective,” and the box was filled with cute little illustrated images of the great things in life, including but not limited too: yoga poses, lipstick and succulents. The design was super fresh and definitely portrayed a new beginning for a new year!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

The second I opened my box, I immediately reached for the Klorane Dry Shampoo with Oat Milk. As you’ve probably noticed from my past posts, I go through dry shampoo quickly, and I needed this ASAP. I loved the fresh scent and light texture, but I felt like I had to use more product than usual to achieve my desired look. I think this would be a great dry shampoo for those with fine hair who are scared of too much product buildup, and at only $20 for a full-size bottle, it’s an affordable high-end option.

IMG_3804.JPG

IMG_3812.JPG

I’ve only recently been trying brow products, and I’m not into anything too intense (I’ll get there!). I ended up really liking the Chella Eyebrow Defining Gel because it has a light hold and is foolproof to use. Some other eyebrow gels I have used have been too stiff, and my eyebrows end up feeling like toothpicks, but this product gave them just enough hold to stay in place but still felt soft to the touch. I don’t think I’d spend $18 on a full price of this product because I wouldn’t use it all up, but the travel size is perfect and I’ll definitely be reaching for it for more natural makeup days. You can see my before (top) and after (bottom) below – it tamed with ease!

IMG_3808.JPG

IMG_3807.JPG

The other makeup product in my box was the Eyeko Skinny Liquid Eyeliner. I absolutely loved how skinny this liner was – it’s perfect for a teeny cat eye (as you can see above). The product didn’t budge all day, but wiped off easily with my normal makeup remover. This will be a great product for my small makeup collection I carry around in my purse, since it can be used for so many different eyeliner looks. The price falls around the median mark at $18 for a full size, but I’ve never seen this brand in stores so it will definitely be an online purchase if I plan to buy it!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

I’ve been all about oil cleansers this month, and the Shiseido Perfect Cleansing Oil did not disappoint. It was awesome for this small sample size to have the pump top, because I sometimes feel like oil cleansers fall through the cracks in my hands when I pour them out, but the pump top kept it in one spot. This cleansing oil is a little thinner than my go-to Josie Maran Argan Cleansing Oil, but cleaned equally as well, and has a nice, neutral scent. Shiseido is a bit of a pricy brand, and the full-size of this product goes for $32, but since you only need a bit of oil to cleanse your whole face, it will last a long time!

IMG_3800.JPG

IMG_3811.JPG

The last thing I received was a type of product I have never used before: Wilma Schumann Skin Care Hydrating Collagen Eye Pads. I’ve seen eye pads like this popping up recently, but they always seemed too expensive to try, so I was super excited to give it a go. As you can see, they look pretty crazy, and felt like solid Jello, but I was extremely impressed with how well they stick on your face. I thought I’d have to lay back to keep them in place, but I was able to sit up and watch TV and walk around my house without any movement of the pads. Once I removed them, the skin around my eyes looked brighter and my puffiness had diminished! It only lasted a few hours, but these would be perfect for special occasions (also since they’re $18 for 5 pairs!).

IMG_3809.JPG

I think this has been my favorite Birchbox yet. I loved the simple theme, and all the products were ones I see myself using regularly. I’m hoping to get more curated boxes in the future – wish me luck!!

Leave a Reply

