|makeup march| guide to cleaning makeup brushes

Welcome to Makeup March! I’m currently in the process of unpacking and organizing since I just moved, and this has made me realize that my makeup collection needs a lot of help. I’ve acquired so much over the past year or so, and my organization has not kept up. That means this month is dedicated to makeup and everything that goes along with it! I figured I’d start out simple, with something I should really do way more often then I actually do – cleaning my makeup brushes! Let’s think about it ladies… these are tools you use every day of your life, and they are constantly exposed to oily faces and different products – ew! I’ve been noticing little bumps and random acne popping up on my skin, and I realized my makeup brushes may to be blame, so it was time to give them a good sanitation! There are a few different methods I use to clean my brushes, so I thought I’d share them all with you.

Method 1: Makeup Brush Cleaner

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

  1. Buy a cleanser specifically marketed for cleaning brushes – I bought this Parisian Spirit Professional Makeup Brush Cleaner a few years ago from Beautylish, and I don’t love the orange scent, but I figured I needed to use it up.
  2. Pour cleanser into a cup, just high enough to cover the dirty bristles but not high enough to hit the line where the bristles attach to the handle (if too much moisture gets into this area, the glue can loosen and bristles can fall out).Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
  3. Swish brush around in the cleanser, then swish around in the palm of your hand to loosen makeup residue.
  4. Rince brush in warm running water. Repeat step 3 and 4 until water runs clean.
  5. Lay brush flat on a paper towel to dry.

 

Method 2: Baby Shampoo

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

  1. Add warm water and baby shampoo to a shallow bowl. Mix until combined.
  2. Rinse brush under warm running water (again, avoiding where bristles meet the handle).
  3. Swish brush around in water/shampoo mixture, then swish around in the palm of your hand to loosen makeup residue.Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
  4. Rinse brush in warm running water. Repeat steps 3 and 4 until water runs clean.Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
  5. Lay brush flat on a paper towel to dry.

 

Method 3: Bar Soap

  1. Get a bar of soap wet and set it on a plate or in a bowl to keep from moving.
  2. Rinse brush under warm running water (again, avoiding where bristles meet the handle).
  3. Swish brush around on the bar of soap, then swish around in the palm of your hand to loosen makeup residue.Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
  4. Rinse brush in warm running water. This method will leave the most soapy residue on the brush, so make sure to rinse well. Repeat steps 3 and 4 until water runs clean.
  5. Lay brush flat on a paper towel to dry.Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

 

My preferred method is using bar soap because I feel that the hard surface of the bar loosens residue the best. And I’m not kidding when I say to avoid getting the part where the brush meet the handle wet – all of the bristles of one of my brushes popped right out because it got too wet! Okay y’all, muster up some motivation and clean those brushes – let’s start Makeup March with a clean slate!

Leave a Reply

