february sephora play box review

Hi there! It’s been a while since my last subscription box review. I’ve been so overwhelmed (in a good way!) with new products lately that it took me a little longer to really try out my boxes this month! I will say that this month’s Sephora Play box had a few winners and a few losers, and I can’t wait to tell you about the products – with a new surprise at the end that I hope to make a tradition! As always, all products I mention below are linked, so be sure to check them out!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I think this might be my favorite bag I’ve gotten… the pink hue and silky texture is unlike any other, and it had the word “smitten” simply in grey font at the bottom – adorable.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The first product I saw when I opened up by box… bag… bag within a box (ugh) was the Too Faced Lip Injection Glossy in Milkshake. I have always been a huge fan of lip plumpers, as I suffer from teeny tiny lips, so I was super excited to try this product! I’ve never had a nude colored plumper, so this was new – I was used to just clear glosses, like the Victoria’s Secret plumper I had used in the past. This gloss DEFINITELY tingled, and the tingling built up over a few minutes after applying. I would even go so far as to describe the sensation as a burning, but it didn’t actually hurt. I loved the plumping results and the glossy sheen, but I wasn’t a huge fan of the color. It looks great over lipsticks, but the color on it’s own washes me out. I may invest in this product in a different, more pigmented shade, like the peachy-looking Babe Alert.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Since this was the month of lips (February… Valentine’s Day… kisses… I think you got it!), I had another lip product in my bag – Tarte Rainforest of the Sea Quench Lip Rescue in Nude. This is a tinted balm with a ton of moisturizing benefits, such as antioxidants and a few different oils. I love the packaging – since it’s part of Tarte’s Rainforest of the Sea collection, it’s adorned in this adorable seashell pattern. The texture is very smooth and oily (in a good way!) and the color is pale while still adding a bit of a tint. I would love to try the other shades of this product because, similar to the Too Faced gloss above, the color was a little pale for my skintone.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The next item I pulled out was the Sephora Collection LashCraft Length & Volume Mascara. I’m pretty picky about my mascaras (and mascara wands), so I wasn’t going to get my hopes up. I would say this product was so-so. It was fine, and I’ve been using it when I’m in a rush and it’s the first mascara I can find, but I definitely wouldn’t purchase it (although the full size is a very nice $12!). They tried to do something different with a paddle-shaped wand, but I feel like it ended up falling flat on the volume spectrum.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

There were two skincare products in the box this month, the first being the Clinique Pep-Start HydroBlur Moisturizer. I have used the eye cream from Clinique’s Pep-Start line and I absolutely love it, so I was eager to give the moisturizer a try! This product is supposed to be a primer-esque moisturizer that blurs pores and preps skin for makeup, while providing a matte finish. I tend to prefer a more dewy look to skin, so I felt like this formula left me looking dull. I do think it may be a good choice in the summer when I plan to be active outside all day and am worried about getting oily and shiny, but for my current dry, winter skin, it didn’t measure up.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The second skincare product this month was the Origins GinZing Refreshing Eye Cream. This quickly became my favorite product of the box, if not of any Sephora Play Box I’ve gotten. The formula is brightening and extremely moisturizing, and I felt like it made my eye area glow and glow all day long. I’ve been loving this product so much that I’m saving it for the mornings – don’t want to waste that beautiful glow for a night in bed!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The last product this month was the perfume sample – this time, I received Prada Candy. I’m SUPER picky about fragrances (do you see a theme here?), and typically am only attracted to very fresh, clean scents. With a name like Candy, I was expecting a very sweet fragrance, but it’s actually a little less sweet and a little more tangy than I thought. Although I wouldn’t buy this perfume for myself (especially with the $90 price tag!,) I have a few friends in mind that might love it.

IMG_4145.JPG

And now, for the new addition to my subscription box reviews! You may have wondered why my usual inserts of makeup product try-ons aren’t inserted above. I’ve decided to do an entire look using all contents of each box (plus more if necessary… you don’t want to see me with just eyeshadow and concealer, for example), instead of showing each separately. I would say this look is fresh and basic, with a nude lip and glowy eyes. I layered the lip plumping gloss over the tinted balm, and kept my eyes bare besides the mascara. The other products I used to complete this look were (all linked): Nivea Olive Oil & Lemon Lip Balm (currently discontinued), Too Faced Sun Bunny Natural Bronzer, Too Faced Love Flush Long-Lasting 16-Hour Blush in Love Hangover, Bare Minerals Blemish Remedy Concealer in Light, and Covergirl Outlast All-Day Soft Touch Concealer in Fair.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Overall, this box was decent! I found a few new products that I hope to try in other shades, and also discovered my new favorite eye cream – I’ve already gotten my sister obsessed as well! Can’t wait to see what next month brings!

 

Leave a Reply

