|brand crush| ole henrikson / balance line

Sup y’all! Do you guys have those brands that you’re just totally drawn to? The ones that suck you in EVERY TIME they come out with a new product? I have many, and today I’ve decided to share one of them with you – Ole Henrikson skincare. My obsession started a few years ago when I decided that I needed to start taking better care of my skin. Ole Henrikson is sold at Sephora, and there were many value sets I could try to get me started with a few products from the brand. I’ve tried so many that I honestly can’t remember what I started with, but I just remember being immediately hooked and getting gift sets for my sisters for Christmas.

Fast forward to now – my loyalty has paid off, and I’ve been lucky enough to try out their new Balance line. This line is marketed towards oily and combination skin (I have combination – oily t-zone, dry cheeks and forehead), and it’s main goal is to cut shine while enhancing glow. While in the winter I tend toward products marketed for dry skin, summer is definitely a time when I need help in the oil-control department.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

These products contain Ole Henrikson’s trademarked combo called Green Fusion Complex, which consists of green tea, eucalyptus, algae and Irish moss extracts. I love all the natural ingredients, and the packaging is also super appealing – the sleek green bottles and simple design are right up my alley.

IMG_4188.JPG

The first step in the Balance system is the Find Your Balance Oil Control Cleanser. This product has a creamy texture, yet feels purifying and refreshing. I really feel like this cleanser unclogs my pores and invigorates my skin, without stripping any natural moisture. My skin also feels super soft after cleansing, probably due to the glycolic and lactid acid that exfoliate away dead skin cells.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The next step is the Balancing Force Oil Control Toner. I honestly haven’t used a toner since middle school, in the days when I’m pretty sure my only goal was drying the F out of my skin so I didn’t break out (I’m so, so sorry, skin…), so I was interested in trying a more “mature” toner and to see what it could do for me. To use, I saturate a cotton pad with the toner and focus mostly on my oily zones, but also do a quick sweep across the rest of my face. I have been LOVING the results – I swear the pores on my nose look smaller, and the oil that usually sits where the side of my nose meets my face is popping up less and less.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The last step is, of course, a moisturizer – the Counter Balance Oil Control Hydrator. This moisturizer comes out looking like a cream, but once you start rubbing it around it turns into a gel. It’s a very light texture but leaves a great dewy look and leaves skin feeling fresh and perfectly hydrated. I think this product would be perfect for those summer months when I’m going to be spending a lot of time outside and need moisture but nothing thick.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

To be honest, I’m not one to use an entire matching line of products, so it was kind of fun to actually use things that are formulated to work together. Although I haven’t been using these products religiously, I’ve seen results even with on-and-off usage. Trying out this new line has just furthered my brand crush… keep doing what you’re doing Ole Henrikson!

 

*I received these products complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes, but as always, all opinions are 100% my own!

Leave a Reply

