february birchbox review

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Well, here we are with another lip-themed February sample box! But who am I to complain… I love lip products! I also love the design of the Birchbox for February. Like I said, there was a definite lip theme going on, and the box had adorable lip prints all over it!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The first lip product I grabbed was the Dr. Lipp Miracle Balm . I love that this is a product that you can use in a ton of different ways – for lips, cuticles, dry skin patches, brows, etc. The info sheet that came in box even says it soothes sunburn (okay but like this would be enough to cover half a shoulder so…?) Anyway, the worst part about this product was how dang hard it is to squeeze out of the container. I squeeze suuuuuuper hard and get the littlest bit out. But what comes out is gold… super moisturizing and glossy and amazing. A definite handbag necessity! The full-size of this product is about 5x the sample size, and comes in at $16.50 – not too bad, but it looks more like a drugstore product to me, so I’m not sure I would spend that price.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The other lip product this month was The Beauty Crop PBJ Smoothie Stick in Saucy Marsala. This lip crayon is super creamy and hydrating, but also has a huge color payoff. The tint reminds me a lot of my Clinique Chubby Stick in Rum Raisin, but with just a DASH more orange. It’s definitely a wintery color, but it’s an easy go-to when I’m not looking to go through the exfoliating process and exact application it takes to do a real lipstick. I received the full-size of this product which normally costs $14.95. I would definitely be interested in trying some other colors at this affordable price!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

My next product this month was the bbrowbar Brow Definer in Indian Chocolate. First of all, I love the name of this color – why does Indian Chocolate sound so appealing?! Anyway, I *gasp* had never used a brow pencil before, so I was pretty nervous, but figured this was my chance to give it a go! I definitely need some more practice, but I think this pencil matched my brows really well and went on light at first which was good for my first try. My only complaint was that I felt like I couldn’t draw a hair-like line – it always drew on too thick. But maybe that’s user error and I just need more practice 🙂 I’m excited to finally have a brow definer to use here and there, and it looks like this full-size product normally comes in at $25 so this was a steal!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The final makeup product in this box was the Supergoop! Daily Correct CC Cream SPF 35+ in Light/Medium. If you remember, Birchbox had sent me this product before but in the Medium/Dark color which is SO not even close to my skintone, so I was pretty excited to try one that might actually work on me! I admit this one is still a BIT too dark for my complexion, but I know it will be perfect once I have a bit of color to my face. I love that this product has SPF 35, and although it’s a bit more coverage than I wear on a daily basis, it successfully blurs out any issues.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Alert, alert! This product is NOT what it seems! Okay that was dramatic, but when I opened my box and saw this perfume sample (Lollia by Margot Elena Dream Eau de Parfum) I was super intrigued by the apparent “white tea & honeysuckle” notes. In reality, the only notes I get in this perfume are BABY POWDER. Literally, I smell nothing else. The info sheet says that “the fragrance sprays on fresh and powdery, but deconstructs into a clean, sheer, classic scent.” Okay, no… that does not happen. It stays nasty baby powdery forever. Honestly, I just tried it again as I’m writing this to make sure… it’s terrible. Especially for $50. Just, don’t do it.

IMG_4195.JPG

Here is my look using all the products. As D was taking this pic of me, he decided to call this my “L.A. Look.” Don’t ask – he’s a peach. As you can see, my brows are a bit more intense as usual, and my skin has a bit more coverage than usual, but I still feel like I look natural. I put a light layer of the lip crayon on with a coat of the miracle balm on top for a nice glossy sheen. I also used the miracle balm as a bit of a highlighter on my cheekbones – it stayed a bit tacky but I loved the look!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Well, lip month was fun! I like that I got to try a few new products this month, even if the trade-off was a terrible perfume. I’m super excited for next month’s Birchbox – get ready, we have a curated box with one of my FAVORITE celebrities! See y’all soon (hint, hint)!

Leave a Reply

