vanilla matcha protein “milkshake”

Let me start out by saying that I came out of the womb loving ice cream. My family always says that my sister and I love what my mom had cravings for while being pregnant with us… for my sister, it was donuts; for me, ice cream (well, technically my mom was obsessed with milkshakes, but you get it!). This became a problem for me when my tummy started HATING dairy. Every time I would try to eat Culver’s custard or a Dairy Queen milkshake, it went terribly. It was a total disaster, and I was so upset. Then came the craze of non-dairy milks! Finally, I could enjoy the things I once did, but this time, without the negative consequences. Needless to say, I am a constant consumer of non-dairy milks and ice creams, and I’ve tried just about every one out there.

Silk is definitely one of my favorite brands for non-dairy products. They have a huge variety, and the flavors are basic but yummy. Silk recently came out with a new nut milk with added protein, and I had to give it a try.

IMG_4380.JPG

This milk is great on its own or in cereal, but I recently decided to give it a blend with a few other ingredients for an afternoon pick-me-up. Let me introduce: Vanilla Matcha Protein “Milkshake.” I would describe this treat as a healthy version of the Starbucks Matcha Frappuccino, but with a few added health benefits and much less sugar!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Ingredients

1 cup Silk Vanilla Protein + Nut Milk

4 tsp. matcha green tea powder

15 drops vanilla stevia liquid

6 ice cubes

Directions

Add all products to blender and blend on high speed for about a minute, or until ice cubes are fully blended up.

IMG_4382.JPG

What you’ll end up with is a frothy, sweet, matcha-flavored beverage that is perfect for that afternoon slump. It tastes like a dessert but only contains a few grams of sugar (from the milk) and all the wonderful health benefits of matcha green tea!

IMG_4379.JPG

Give this recipe a try and let me know what you think in the comments below! I can already see this recipe going a ton of different ways with other add-ins in place of the matcha powder – chocolate-raspberry anyone?!

 

*I received products free from Silk to review for this post, but as always, all opinions are 100% my own!

Leave a Reply

