the gleam team // march sephora play! box

When I said I was catching up, I wasn’t kidding. Here we are with ANOTHER “glow”-themed Sephora Play! Box… not that I’m complaining – I love to glow LOLZ. This is the first time that I had already used THREE of six products in my box, but fortunately they were all products I like. Let’s start with the ones that were new to me…

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

I’ve tried a few masks from GLAMGLOW (and of course loved them!), but I’ve never tried any other products from the brand. This month, I received a GLAMGLOW GLOWSTARTER Mega Illuminating Moisturizer in the color Nude Glow. Even though this product is called a “moisturizer,” I never used it on it’s own, but mixed it with other basic daytime moisturizers. I love the overall dewy look it gives, and it smells like an orange creamsicle! If I were to buy this product, I think I would go for the shade Sun Glow instead of Nude Glow, because I obviously love a little tan with my glow!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

I’m all about trying new highlighters lately, and the Benefit Cosmetics Watt’s Up! Cream-to Powder Highlighter has not disappointed. I’ve been all about the cream highlighters – something about the formula feels more customizable to me, as I can literally draw it on EXACTLY where I want it, versus using a fluffy brush and getting a powder highlighter all over my face. This formula starts as a cream in a tube, but turns into a light powdery formula as it dries which makes it super easy to blend with fingers or a makeup sponge. The color is perfect on any skin tone, and I can tell you right now that this is going to be my spring-to-summer go-to daily highlighter. Also, something about the chrome packaging totally has me hooked!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

I used to be obsessed with using oils in my hair, but for some reason I’ve recently fallen out of love – that’s until this Verb Ghost Oil came into my life. It has a super light texture made of a blend including moringa seed oil, and it adds that perfect subtle shine and moisture that my hair craves on the daily. I will admit that I wish this oil came in a spray bottle, but it looks like the full-size actually does – guess I’ll have to try it! Another bonus is that the Verb line is based in the USA (Austin to be exact)!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

It’s not often that I come across products that I have no idea what to do with, but that’s what happened when I tried this Josie Maran Surreal Skin Argan Finishing Balm in a Josie Maran set I got this winter. This product can be used as a primer or a finisher, but either way it gives off a gorgeous “luminous, ethereal effect.” I wasn’t disappointed to see this balm in this month’s box because my sister has been asking what I’m wearing every time I’ve used this product, so now she can try for herself! I still feel like I haven’t totally mastered the application, since you kind of have to press & pat the balm into your skin, but it’s pretty hard to mess up – especially with the enhancement of argan oil, no matter what you do with this, it’ll be a good thing!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

I’m not one to go for a big eyeshadow look, but I do like to play around with shimmery matte shades for a night out. As we all know, shimmery shades come with fallout, and no one wants a glittery under-eye – enter, eyeshadow primer! I’ve been using this Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion in Original for a few years now, and it’s been fine, but I never loved it. I decided to try out the one that came in my box instead of the one I’d had for a few too many years (oops!), and realized that the old formula had gotten past it’s prime, because this new batch was AMAZING! If I ever needed a kick in the butt to get rid of old makeup, this was it. I love that this primer turns from a cream into an almost matte powder, and I also learned this time around that letting it dry for 30 seconds is the best way to get the most staying power. 10/10 would recommend for your daily shadow primer, and it’s cheap – $20 for a full-size that lasts forever (but remember, don’t be me – get a new one every few years).

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

And last but not least, the fragrance for this month. Sephora seems to love to include fragrances from the brand Atelier, and this time was no different – I received the Atelier Cologne in Clémentine California. I could have sworn I had already received this scent in a Sephora Play! Box, but it looks like that may have been a different citrus-scented one. Anyway, I usually hate orange scents (and flavors too!), so I actually groaned when I pulled this out, but then I was pleasantly surprised. This clementine scent is super fresh and not sickly sweet, and has a kick of a peppery ending to balance it out. I don’t think I would ever specifically buy this scent, but I’ve been enjoying it on a daily basis the past few weeks. My one complaint, as always, is that the sample size doesn’t have a sprayer – who else HATES putting fragrances on without a sprayer?! IT’S THE LITERAL WORST!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Guess what – the look is back! I felt like the last subscription box post was really missing something, so I had to bring the look back, especially with these glow-worthy products! I kept the rest of my makeup super basic to let the glowy skin shine, and I have to say I think this look is perfect for a spring weekend day with a full schedule!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Until next month, Sephora! I’m hoping for some suncare products to welcome us into the warmer months!

One thought on “the gleam team // march sephora play! box

Leave a Reply

