what i eat in a day // typical work day

As someone obsessed with Youtube and tending towards lifestyle channels, “What I Eat in a Day” videos are a constant in my life. For some reason, they continue to be interesting, video after video, day after day. While I’m not quite sure why this is, I realized that I’m probably not the only one enjoying this type of content, so I figured I’d give it a try!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

6:30 AM : I’m the kind of person that needs to eat a huge breakfast. If I don’t eat within about a half hour of getting up, I start getting a headache and feeling nauseous, so something big and filling is necessary. I love making overnight oats – especially in the summer, since they’re cold – because you can pretty much use whatever you have in your fridge and pantry, as long as you have the staples (oats and milk). For this day, I used the Peanut Butter Overnight Oats recipe from Minimalist Baker as a starting off point, but made a few changes – I did 1 tbsp of peanut butter instead of 2 tbsp, and I used Truvia Nectar, which is a blend of stevia and honey, in place of the maple syrup. I topped it all off in the morning with half a banana, and it was amazing! I’m also usually super thirsty in the morning, so I down a glass of water or two. While I’d say I’m typically more of a tea person than a coffee person, I’ve been on a coffee kick lately, and this morning I enjoyed a cup with some Coffeemate Natural Bliss Vanilla Almond Milk Coffee Creamer. I love the taste of sweet coffee, and am super happy that a mainstream brand like Coffeemate came out with a non-dairy creamer!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

9:00 AM : I usually have a reusable water bottle with me all day, but as life goes, I couldn’t find it this morning. I’m pretty picky about water (Evian all the way), but I’ve found that these Kirkland water bottles from Costco aren’t all that bad, except for that they’re so thin that you inevitably spill when you try to take the cap off for the first time.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

11:30 AM : I started feeling nauseous around mid-day (SHOCKER) and something bubbly usually settles my stomach. I would say that the Berry flavor of La Croix is my least favorite, but it’s what there was at the house I nanny at, so I couldn’t complain. My absolute favorite flavors are Passionfruit and Coconut – controversial, I know!

img_4756.jpg

12:30 PM : My nausea finally moved on, so it was time for lunch. When I’m planning to go to the grocery store during the day, I usually skip packing a lunch so I can make a salad at the salad bar. I have a total thing for grocery store salad bars, like the ones in Pick N Save or Metcalfe’s. Of course every salad is a little different, but this one had spring mix, red onion, shredded carrot, celery, artichoke hearts, mushrooms, cucumbers, black olives and sunflower seeds. I skip dressing from the salad bar if I’m bringing the salad home because it tends to add a lot of weight, and you usually pay by the pound. Once home, I throw on some olive oil, balsamic vinegar, garlic salt, pepper, parsley flakes and dried oregano – it makes the perfect dressing. If I’m making a salad at home, I love to add fresh herbs instead of dried ones, because they are super flavorful and fresh.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

2:00 PM : The salad only held me over for so long, so it was time for a snack. Kind Bars are my favorite kind of bar, because they actually keep me full and I don’t feel like I’m eating 100% sugar. My favorite kind are any with salt, like this Dark Chocolate, Almond & Sea Salt one, because I love the flavor of sweet and salty together.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

4:30 PM : Snack #2! I knew it would be a while until dinner, so I decided on a snack that would hold me over for a while. Half an avocado on some Blue Diamond Artisan Flax Seed Nut Thins was healthy and satisfying – and of course I sprinkled some garlic salt on top because I 100% have a salt obsession and I’m not afraid to admit it.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

7:00 PM : I’m super lucky to have a boyfriend that makes me healthy, yummy dinners most nights. On this night, stir fry was on the menu! He made some brown rice and topped it with a mix of carrots, broccoli, onion and celery stir fried in a homemade sauce (made with tamari, rice vinegar, sesame oil, agave nectar, LOTS of garlic & ginger, and red pepper flakes). After this bowl I went back and picked out all the celery that was left and ate it because I have a weird obsession with celery in stir fry. And of course, I had a Passionfruit La Croix with dinner, because the Berry one earlier just did not satisfy.

I wouldn’t say it’s totally typical that I don’t eat anything after dinner – usually some chocolate or a cup of tea – but I happen to fall asleep at 8:30 this night, so dinner was the end. This is what a typical work day of eating looks like for me, but if you’re interested in a version that includes eating out, let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

