how to // pack for a weekend trip // spring version

Hola hola! Hope everyone is having a fantastic week! I feel like things are really starting to pick up in terms of summer beginning, and with Memorial Day coming up next week, I feel like the traveling will start and never stop! I am usually one to pack way too much (you should have seen my list for a week in Mexico!), but I find that I overpack less if I have an exact list I can stick to – and we all know how much I like lists! Making a very detailed packing list also extremely cuts down my anxiety – I make the list about a week before I leave, and then add things as I think of them throughout the week. This way, I know I have everything I could ever need, and I’m not worrying the whole way there whether I forgot something important like contacts!

Obviously a packing list is somewhat personal, and I probably have a more extensive list than the average person, but I have finally gotten down a base list that I go off every time I travel. Each trip constitutes a different version, and here we have the SPRING WEEKEND variety!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Clothing & Accessories

  • 1 swimsuit – spring weather can go from 50 degrees to 80 degrees real quick, and you want to be more than ready for an impromptu beach day
  • 5 pairs of underwear – you can never overpack in this area
  • 1 pair of pajamas
  • 1 pair of jeans – you should easily be able to pick a pair that go with a few different shirts
  • 1 pair of leggings
  • 1 pair of shorts
  • 3 tops for daytime
  • 1 dress for daytime
  • 2 dresses or skirt/top combos for nighttime
  • 1 sweater – my usual is a simple grey cardigan, because I know I can throw it on with anything
  • rain jacket
  • umbrella
  • 1 pair of sandals
  • 1 pair of wedges or fancier shoes
  • 1 sports bra – depending where you’re staying the night, you might want this to throw on in the morning with your pajamas!
  • tennis shoes
  • 1 pair of comfy shoes for walking around
  • 2 pairs of earrings – 1 pair of studs, 1 pair of dangly
  • 1 necklace
  • strapless bra
  • nude bra
  • jean jacket
  • small crossbody purse

 

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Toiletries 

  • flat iron
  • curling iron
  • hairspray
  • dry shampoo
  • shampoo
  • conditioner
  • leave-in conditioner
  • face wash
  • face wipes – I used to only bring actual face wash and I regretted it every time… trips tire you out, and sometimes you just cannot be bothered with your whole skincare routine – wipes to the rescue!
  • razor
  • shaving cream
  • body wash
  • face lotion
  • eye cream
  • face serum
  • lip balm
  • sunscreen
  • face sunscreen – current FAVORITE is Hawaiian Tropic Silk Hydration Weightless Face Sunscreen – leaves you moisturized and with a gorgeous glow, but doesn’t feel heavy or oily
  • contacts/glasses
  • medications/vitamins
  • makeup remover
  • cotton pads
  • q-tips
  • OTC meds like Advil, Tums, etc. – walking around all day and indulging in yummy treats can leave you feeling a little bit like poop during a whirlwind weekend
  • makeup – I could probably do a whole different post about this, but we’ll leave it at that
  • extra hair ties
  • bobby pins
  • body lotion
  • foot lotion
  • brush
  • deodorant
  • small first aid kit with bandaids and Neosporin
  • toothbrush
  • toothpaste
  • floss
  • mouthwash
  • tampons – even if it’s not your time of the month, you can never be too safe, so throw a few in
  • perfume

 

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Purse and/or Carry-On

  • water bottle – a reusable one is a necessity for long car or plane rides
  • sunglasses
  • book
  • magazines – I always throw a few in my “purse” (aka big enough to be a diaper bag) for downtime
  • small wallet – to throw in the small crossbody purse
  • laptop & charger
  • tablet & charger
  • phone & charger
  • camera & charger
  • small notebook & pen – you never know when inspiration might strike!
  • headphones
  • hand lotion
  • 1 pair of underwear – especially if you’re flying, you never know what could happen, and nothing makes you feel more gross then not changing these daily!
  • wet wipes
  • small pack of Kleenex

 

I know it seems like a lot, but I can usually fit all of this in a medium-sized duffel and my big tote-like purse. If I’m traveling in a car vs. an airplane, I’ll usually throw my shoes and toiletries in a reusable tote to make more room in my duffel. I totally understand the point of not overpacking, but if I feel totally prepared for any situation, I know I’ll have a much better trip – I can spend my time enjoying the weekend instead of worrying I don’t have the right clothes or gear for the weather! I hope everyone has a few fun summer trips planned, and and don’t worry – if you use this list, you won’t forget a thing!

What are your weekend trip essentials? Leave a comment below and let me know!

 

*I received products free from Hawaiian Tropic through Crowdtap to review for this post, but as always, all opinions are 100% my own!

One thought on “how to // pack for a weekend trip // spring version

Leave a Reply

