spotlight on anti-aging // april birchbox

Sometimes I feel like I can’t keep up with Birchbox. It seems like each month brings a new type of box to order, but I’m not complaining – we all know how much I love any type of subscription box! For April, we had the option of the basic surprise box, choosing one special sample, OR a spotlight box (anti-aging, dry skin or oily skin). Since I am all about preventing the signs of aging as early as possible, I decided to go for the anti-aging box. I definitely found some winners and some losers… and one product that is definitely going on my wishlist!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Swoon-worthy Wishlist Product: The Organic Pharmacy Double Rose Rejuvenating Face Cream (full-size $88)

If I’m being 100% honest, this was the product I was the least excited about. The packaging isn’t exciting, the tube was small, and I’ve never been the biggest fan of rose scents. But WOW – was I impressed after just one use. This cream is ultra-moisturizing but sinks is super fast, and leaves you with a dewy, glowy look that doesn’t feel sticky or tacky. The rose scent is actually very appealing (is rose growing on me?!), and smells more fresh than floral. The price tag is a bit off the wall, but a little does go a long way. I also love that it’s formulated to “help reduce broken capillaries” – under my nose is filled with these little red lines, and although I don’t think I was able to use this product long enough to notice a difference, I would be really interested to see what long-term use would do. Although I won’t be instantly purchasing the full size of this cream because of the hefty price tag, it’s definitely going on my wishlist!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Most Disappointing Product: Demarché Labs Roloxin Lift Instant Wrinkle Smoothing Mask ($45 for 5)

When I read the description for this mask – “mimicking the effect of a derm visit, this mask uses patented SilicaLift technology that smooths skin and pulls it taut” – I was expecting big results. What I ended up getting what the opposite – my skin didn’t feel any different! I love when masks instantly make you look dewy, plump and moisturized, and this one didn’t deliver in any of those areas. For almost $10 per mask, I would highly recommend that you never try it – it’s not even close to worth it!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Most Surprising Product: Shiseido Ultimune Power Infusing Concentrate (full-size $67)

I’ve always felt kind of meh about concentrates, or products that claim to make other products work harder. They usually seem like a gimmick, and I can never tell if my skin feels and looks better because of this extra product, or because using this extra product means I actually carried out my skincare routine, and that’s what really made a difference. Anyway, I decided to test the system, so I did the whole routine that came in this box, but I tried it a few times with the concentrate, and a few times without. I can honestly say I saw a difference! There wasn’t enough of a difference to necessarily spend $67 on a full-size, but the formula was luxurious and my skin was significantly softer when I added this product to my regimen. Hopefully this sample size will last a few weeks and I can decide if a full-size purchase is worth it!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Product That Makes You Look 15: REN Keep Young and Beautiful Instant Firming Beauty Shot (full-size $54)

I am all about serums, but most of the impressive ones seem to be hundreds of dollars. This REN product gave me similar results to the holy grail Sunday Riley Good Genes but at a mere fraction of the cost. This serum’s claim to fame is “an amped version of hyaluronic acid,” so you come out with extremely hydrated skin that looks super plump and youthful. I would say that I’m seriously considering adding this product into my daily routine, as I get up the nerve to actually purchase a more expensive serum.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

I-Have-No-Other-Way-To-Describe-This-But-“Fine” Product: Real Chemistry Fresh-Start Foaming Cleanser (full-size $24)

As my title might suggest, I really just don’t have much to say about this cleanser. It works. It gets off your makeup and cleanses your skin. It doesn’t totally dry you out like a drugstore gel cleanser. It’s supposed to smell like grapefruit but kind of smells like Dove soap. If you’re looking for a basic foaming cleanser, go for it… but I’ll just be using this up for convenience, and would choose something else with more wow factor any day.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

I love that I was able to get an entire beauty routine in one box. I definitely tried out and LOVED some products that I may not have purchased otherwise, and I found one addition to my ever-growing beauty wishlist! Let’s all hope I can keep this anti-aging routine going and that I still look 23 when I’m 35! What are your favorite anti-aging products? Leave a comment below and let me know – these samples will be gone soon!

Leave a Reply

