relaxing & rejuvenating weeknight at home with duncan hines

As a blogger with a separate full-time job, it’s pretty common that my weeknights turn into working nights. I get home from nannying, eat a quick dinner, and spend the rest of the night writing, answering emails, and editing. It’s rare that I give myself an entire night to rest and relax, but sometimes it is the biggest productivity boost – everyone deserves a break, and when you actually let yourself take one, it can refresh you for days! Weather permitting, I love to spend these relaxing nights outside. Nothing rejuvenates a body and soul like some fresh air. And really, what can you do inside that you can’t do outside?

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

The first step to get you in the mood is to put on some comfy clothes. My usual choices are a cozy sweater and leggings – restricting jeans and tight bra straps are not invited to my relaxing and rejuvenating weeknights!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Once you’re in your cozies, light a candle. As summer approaches, I’m shying away from deeper scents and reaching for my fresher ones – anything with peach has been my favorite lately!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

After candles, we move on to snacks. Before making dinner, I like to give myself a hot second and enjoy some wine and a little snack. Ever since studying abroad in Spain, I’ve learned to pair plain, salty potato chips with wine. Honestly, give it a try – the flavors are bomb together!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

While sipping my wine and inevitably pouring another glass, I tear through a few magazines that have been piling up. Reading magazines is one of my favorite guilty pleasures, but it’s one of those things that falls to the wayside when I get busy. I will always remember the first semester of my sophomore year of college – I was stressed with school and a new job, and I finally broke down one night and admitted to myself that all I wanted to do was read the fall issue of Martha Stewart Living. Such a dork, right?!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Once the chips hit my tummy and I realize how hungry I actually am, I’ll head in for dinner. But after dinner is when it gets interesting… have you ever been in that situation when you just REALLY want cake, but you 1. have absolutely zero motivation to make cake and 2. know that if you make cake you will end up throwing most of it away because you don’t live in a house full of people who are going to eat cake all day? ME TOO. But guess what… there is a solution to our problem! These little Duncan Hines Perfect for 1 S’mores Cakes are ready in the microwave in 3 minutes – and all you need is water and a mug! I was honestly shocked by how amazing they smell and taste. I’m a fan of all things s’mores, so I would obviously recommend this flavor, but there are a million different ones to choose from, like Carrot Cake and Brownie. And every flavor is so customizable – I added a few extra chocolate chips and marshmallows to mine, and it totally made it. Cake craving = satisfied!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

As I enjoy my cake-in-a-mug, I indulge in my other guilty pleasure… YouTube videos! My current fave YouTuber is Kalyn Nicholson (look her up NOW), and I’ve been slowly but surely working my way through all her videos. When I’m feeling burnt out and uninspired, nothing perks me up like a few travel vlogs or seasonal DIYs!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

There you have it! All the ingredients I need for a relaxing and rejuvenating weeknight at home – pretty simple, right? And now for the hard part – actually getting yourself to commit to a night with no work! Good luck ladies and gentlemen. Comment below with your favorite ways to spend a cozy night in!

 

*I received free products from Duncan Hines through Influenster to review for this post, but as always, all opinions are 100% my own!

Leave a Reply

