the best things in life are me! // april sephora play! box

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

I’m going to start out here by being very honest – I am really over the Sephora Play! Box subscription box. I was so excited when they came out with the service, seeing as I love subscription boxes and am obsessed with Sephora. But lately, I don’t even get excited when my box shows up. I usually end up already having at least one of the products in the box, and I’m lucky if I end up with one exciting item that goes on my full-size wishlist. I haven’t yet cancelled – I’m going to give it a few months and see what happens.  That being said, let’s take a look at what I got this month.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Starting with skincare, this month I received the Philosophy Purity Made Simple Cleanser.  This cleanser has a fresh, clean smell and a creamy texture that cleans skin without stripping away any moisture. Supposedly, this formula can stand in for cleanser, toner and hydrator, but I don’t think it gave the kind of results to warrant that. After using this all week, my skin felt extremely smooth and fresh!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Also in the skincare department, I got to try out the Peter Thomas Roth Water Drench Hyaluronic Cloud Cream. I was actually super excited for this because I’d been hearing and seeing a lot of hype about it lately! The ombre bottle is adorable, and it has the most interesting formula. It squeezes out like gel, turns into a thin, watery substance as you rub it into your face, but sets like a thick cream. I can’t figure it out, but I guess I agree with the “cloud” description! This cream is perfect for those summer days when you know you’ll be outside/sweating/etc. and don’t want anything heavy, but your skin still needs a decent dose of moisture.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

There was one more skincare type product this month: Sephora Collection Waterproof Eye Makeup Remover. I am very picky about eye makeup removers (I ONLY use Make Up For Ever Sens’Eyes) and this one did not even come close to measuring up. My eye makeup wasn’t even waterproof, and it hardly came off, and my eyes felt irritated after using it. Would not recommend.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

The first makeup product I received was one I had already gotten in a Sephora Play! Box, and that is the Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer. I do like this primer, and it’s a great basic, but it’s nothing exciting. Also, doesn’t Sephora track what they’ve sent people before so they make sure not to send it again? Super frustrating!!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

The other makeup product this month was another boring basic: Make Up For Ever Aqua XL Eye Pencil Waterproof Eyeliner in Matte Black. How many black eyeliners are they going to send me? This one is pretty decent – draws a thick line, but stays on all day with no budging. I would say I would buy it, BUT I NEVER NEED TO BUY BLACK EYELINER BECAUSE I GET SO MANY IN MY PLAY! BOXES. Okay, rant over, I swear.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

As (almost) always, I received a subpar fragrance sample. This month, that happened to be the Miu Miu L’eau Bleue. This perfume is described with notes of Honeysuckle, Lily of the Valley, and Akigalawood (whatever that is), but honestly all I smell is play-doh. It’s possible that I have described a fragrance before as play-doh scented, but really, that’s all I’m getting. It’s terrible.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

As you can see, I was about 10% impressed with this month’s Sephora Play! Box. The only product that really stood out to me was the Peter Thomas Roth face cream. What do you guys think? Should I CANCEL my subscription to Sephora Play! Box? I’m sure I would go back on a waiting list if I ever wanted to sign up again, but I feel like this was a total waste of $10.55. Weight in below – I’ll keep you updated!

 

SaveSave

Leave a Reply

