how to // stay sane during your period

Well ladies (yes, just ladies… going to take a wild guess that the gentlemen aren’t going to be a big fan of this post…), the time has come. That monthly chunk of time when everything is just effed up. Mood? Terrible. Motivation? Non-existent. Confidence? Yeah right. You guessed it… I’m talking about your period!

I realize that this may not be a topic that everyone loves to talk about, but I’ll admit that I’m a pretty open person. Most girls and women go through this rough patch every 4 weeks or so, and I don’t think it’s something to be ignored. I’m sure we all have a few tips and tricks to get through our time with a bit more sanity, and probably a few necessities as well. I’m here to share mine, because who couldn’t use a little extra help in this department?

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Necessity number one is a motivational book with a side of soothing tea. I’ve just started reading You are a Bad Ass by Jen Sincero (birthday gift from my lovely friend Sarah!) and it is just what I need to kick my booty into gear around this time. Usually my motivation level is low-as-can-be, but a few inspirational words can turn that right around! The best thing to go with a good book is a hot, yummy cup of tea, and soothing flavors like Lavender Chamomile and Ginger feel amazing on my (unavoidable) upset tummy.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

It’s a widely known fact that you tend to feel less-than-gorgeous around your period. I particularly tend to feel super masculine… awesome, right?! This calls for some extra pampering! I love any of the Bella face masks (super cheap from Target!) and this Amika Nourishing Mask is getting my heat-damaged hair back to a luscious state. You can’t deny that you’ll feel better about yourself with a smooth, clean face and some shiny, moisturized locks!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

An obvious necessity for this period (no pun intended…), tampons are something I am very picky about. I’ve only found one or two kinds that work for me, and straying from those is never a good idea. That being said, I was a bit nervous to try these o.b. Original Supers, but I figured all I could do was give them a try. I was also pretty scared to try out a tampon without an applicator, but I’m all about saving packaging and plastic when it’s possible, so I was willing to give it my all. I was surprised with how easy it was to insert, and once you get the hang of it, they’re actually super comfortable. I love how small these tampons are, too – super easy to carry around!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

My last and final tip to make it through your period is to INDULGE – for me, this means eating as much chocolate as I want, and throwing on some bright lipstick. You got this ladies! Don’t waste an entire week feeling down and gross – take charge and put these tips into action! What are your stay-sane tips for that time of the month?

 

// I received free product from o.b. via Smiley360 to review for this post, but all opinions are 100% my own. //

Leave a Reply

