beauty on the rise // may sephora play! box

It’s been a weird month. And I don’t just mean with subscription boxes… I mean in general. But we won’t get into that. It ALSO has been a weird month for subscription boxes. I feel like Sephora looked into their overstock room this month and asked, what could we throw into a box and call it “Beauty on the Rise.” I’m not saying the products are bad, I just don’t see the theme, and that’s one of the most fun parts about getting a box – the combo and decor should make you feel something! In that category, Sephora failed this month, but I still got to try out a few new decent products.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Let’s start with the product I received that I already had and currently use – TrèStiQue Highlight + Perfect Multipurpose Stick in Maldives Luminescent. Described as a “shimmering champagne pink,” this super-blendable and lightweight formula highlighter has been my go-to for the last few months. I just learned that this product is enhanced with coconut oil, and I’m totally addicted to the gorgeous, buildable, subtle highlight it gives. Sometimes I feel like the texture enhances the look of the peach fuzz on my cheeks, but hey, maybe that’s a personal problem…

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

The other makeup product included this month was the NUDESTIX Magnetic Matte Lip Color in Greystone. When I saw this product in the box, my first thought was – why in the poop are we getting a dark brown lip color for the start of summer? Literally, this makes no sense, and enhanced the “what’s-in-our-overstock-deparment” feel of this box even more. I figured I’d try the product out anyway, and this stick actually has a really nice formula. The texture turns out super matte, but it has great staying power and goes on  smooth and creamy. I would definitely consider trying a different shade in this product, but I’m still confused what Sephora was thinking with the brown in May.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

I loved the Rahua Omega 9 Hair Mask that I received this month, but I will forever be sad that deep conditioners that come in subscription boxes are strictly one-use (at least for my mop of hair). I can say I liked this mask, and that my hair felt great after sleeping in it (and washing it out, of course), but I feel like I can never make a final decision on a hair mask, shampoo or conditioner until I’ve used it a few different times, and styled my hair a few different ways. That being said, from what I can tell, I’ve gotten similar results from some stand-out drugstore masks – and this Rahua one comes in at a hefty $58 per bottle.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

The first of two skincare products this month, the Skin Laundry Gentle Foaming Wash, was a good, basic, gel cleanser. There was a nice, clean scent, and the formula felt gentle but effective. My main problem was that it was a bit drying – but for the summer months, sometimes you need a cleanser like this. On the info sheet, Sephora recommends double cleansing with this product and an oil cleanser, so I’m definitely going to give that a try!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Is anyone else a little frustrated about skincare lingo? For example, the belif Hungarian Water Essence we received – it’s considered a treatment, but says essence on the bottle, but are those really any different from a serum? The directions say to use it after toner but before moisturizer, so to me, that’s a serum… we’re going to call it a serum. Anyway, I was only able to use this serum for a few days, but I feel like I’m going to become a big fan. It’s perfect as your morning serum because it plumps and hydrates, leaving you dewy and lifted for the day. I also felt like the effects took longer to disappear than normal – an hour later, my skin still looked as good as the second I put it on!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

And now, another TOCCA fragrance! Why is Sephora obsessed with sending the same perfume brands over and over?! I haven’t been huge fans of the other TOCCA perfumes I’ve received, but I’d say this TOCCA Stella is the best of the bunch. They’re usually super floral and grandma-y, but this specific one is much more fresh and citrusy. I also love the look of the full-size bottle – light pink product in a clear bottle with a gold top, perfect for my vanity!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Biggest bonus of the Sephora Play! Box this month was the actual bag – they did something different for once! I’m not quite sure what to do with this plasticy, snap-closure pouch, but it just seems a lot more useful than the usual drawstring bag that inevitably ends up losing one side of the drawstring and becoming useless.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Here’s a nice Snapchat selfie of me as I was playing with the NUDESTIX lip color and the Trèstique highlighter – as you can see, the highlighter looks especially bomb in the cupid’s bow, and the lip color isn’t too bad, but maybe send it to us in September when everyone is getting excited about fall?!

What did you think of May’s Sephora Play! Box? Did you receive the grey-brown lip color as well? Let me know in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “beauty on the rise // may sephora play! box

Leave a Reply

