gyst sunday // week of july 9

Today feels like the most Sunday-y Sunday I’ve ever had – does that make sense? After two atypical weeks and weekends (surgery really throws off your schedule…), tomorrow begins a very normal week. In a way, it’s comforting and a bit exciting to get back into routine, and I’m hoping to take full advantage of it. I spent today getting a lot of things organized and scheduled out, and it feels good to start the week with priorities set out and plans in place.

There isn’t much to check-in with from last week – though I do need to get going on my summer to-do list! I have an unexpectedly free weekend coming up, so hopefully I can check a few things off the list, get a couple good photos, and make some memories in the process!

And now, my goals for this week!

Wellness & Career/Finances

I wasn’t quite sure which category to put this goal in, but it really will benefit me in both areas. Over the past few months, and even more since summer started, I’ve been hitting up Starbucks and other coffee shops a bit too frequently. A latte out here and there isn’t going to hurt anyone, but it was getting to the point that I would need (okay, need might be a strong word, but it was a strong want) every day of the week. My bank account has definitely been affected negatively, and I’m sure my body wasn’t loving all the caffeine spikes and added sugar too much. I know I can’t go as far as to say I’m going to cut out all coffee right now, but I’m going to try as hard as I can to skip going to coffee shops for sugary lattes. At $5-$6 per drink (please tell me why soy milk always has to be so expensive…), I think I’m going to be crazy surprised how much money I really save!

Home

When I had all the time in the world during sinus surgery recovery, I cleaned up my desk to a point that I’m really happy with, but I realized that I have saved a ridiculous amount of pages ripped out of magazines over the last few years. I’m sure there are some good recipes and ideas, but they’re not doing any good sitting in a pile on my bookshelf. I’m going to spend 30 minutes each night purging & scanning the magazine pages into the Evernote app on my computer. I love that I can access the database I’ve stored on the app on my phone as well as my laptop, and you can create “notebooks” of different types of documents to keep organized. This way, I still have the info I wanted to save from the magazine article, but there isn’t any precious space taken up in my desk area and a lot of clutter is eliminated.

What are your goals for this week? Are you getting into a summer routine, or do you feel like life won’t settle down until after Labor Day? Let’s kill this mid-July week ladies and gents – you got this!

Leave a Reply

