june birchbox

Well, you win some you lose some, and that’s exactly how I felt about the products I received in my June Birchbox. Flash back to June 7th – I’m sitting at my kitchen table in the middle of book club (discussing The Nightingale, I believe), and I receive an email about a sneak-peak of the products in my box. I’m someone that loves surprises, and I used to ignore these emails because the excitement I would get upon receiving my box was amplified if I had no idea what I was getting. Now, in the blogging days, seeing my products ahead of time makes planning, etc. a little easier, so I usually take all the hints I can get. Anyway, back to book club – so I open the email, and the Birchbox website pops up with all of my June products listed. I honestly shrieked with joy about one of the products, and audibly groaned/went on a rant about one of the others – Emma (of emmaelsewhere) can vouch for the honest recount of these possibly-a-couple-glasses-of-wine-induced emotionally-charged reactions. Ready to find out what I felt so strongly about?

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Let’s start with makeup products. First up is the Mellow Cosmetics Liquid Lip Paint in New York ($14). My #1 complaint – WHY AM I GETTING DARK LIPSTICK IN THE MIDDLE OF SUMMER AGAIN. #2 complaint – calling this lip color a “paint” is very deceiving. It is much more like a buildable stain that never really evens out. The formula is super thin and almost watery, so anytime your lips touch together (especially in the middle of your bottom lip) the color instantly fades away. I’m sure it would be less noticeable with lighter colors, but this product does not do the job it’s supposed to. Would not recommend – you can definitely find a similarly priced item that delivers, such as the Sephora Collection Cream Lip Stain Liquid Lipstick ($14).

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Second up for makeup products this month: Benefit Cosmetics Goof Proof Brow Pencil in Dark Brown to Black – Warm ($24). Another disappointment in my book. The teardrop-shaped applicator is supposed to make filling in your brow easy, but it was impossible for me to get it right. The color was also way too dark for me, and the formula almost had too much pay off – you could never do just a bit of filling in, but rather needed to fully commit and give your brows a total makeover. Granted, I haven’t mastered my brows yet, but I know there are some easier products out there for beginners.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

The last makeup product this month was the groan-worthy Smashbox Cosmetics Photo Finish Foundation Primer ($36) I don’t have anything to say about this product because I’VE ALREADY RECEIVED IT TWICE IN SUBSCRIPTION BOXES. I subscribe to these boxes to be able to try new products, not to refill products I’ve used up – I can purchase full sizes if I really love it. That being said, you can read my review of this product in a previous post here.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

The one skincare product I received this month was probably the most exciting sample I have ever been sent from Birchbox – the Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser Starter Kit ($24). I love using cloths to wash off my cleanser, and I’ve been obsessed with trying this cleanser ever since I heard about it from one of my favorite YouTubers, Estée Lalonde. The cleanser is a creamy formula that feels and smells very natural, and the cloth gets super soft when wet. I was a bit surprised with how quickly the cloth gets cold (even after rinsing it with hot water), and it’s a bit frustrating that it has to be hand washed specially, but the glow I see and feel after using this cleanser makes it totally worth the fuss!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Last but certainly not least, we have the Oribe Dry Texturizing Spray ($46). I really wish Oribe products weren’t so expensive because I absolutely LOVE them, and my new favorite is this one. I can’t even describe the scent beside that it is earthy and fresh and amazing. I love the unique texture of this dry shampoo + texturizing spray because it gives the grit and volume of a dry shampoo without being as heavy or residual. I know I’ll go through this little bottle quickly, and I’m hoping I can find a more affordable dupe – I’ll report back!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

I couldn’t bring myself to take more than a selfie with this lipstick/eyebrow combo, so here ya go… it’s not good. You can tell that the lip color is already fading from my lower pip, and the edges were instantly feathering. The brows are just… wrong. I’m disappointed to be 0/3 in the makeup department for June’s Birchbox, but since the skincare and haircare products were such successes, I’m not complaining too hard.

Is there one product that you’ve been pining after for months like I had about the Liz Earle Cleanse + Polish? If so, this is the push you need to JUST TRY IT (if it’s in your budget, of course). Life’s too short to use shitty skincare, friends 🙂 Until next month, Birchbox!

Leave a Reply

