get your shit together sunday // week of may 21 2017

For me, Sundays are all about getting set for the week ahead. Nothing is worse than waking up on a Monday morning feeling unprepared and unmotivated, and I don’t think I’m alone in saying that Sundays (nights especially!) seem to be the time to GYST (aka, get your shit together). I usually lay in bed on these nights, making some goals and plans for the week in my head, but the second that alarm starts blaring early Monday morning, my intentions are forgotten and all I can worry about is how I’m possibly going to tear myself out the bed. I’ve read articles about “setting intentions” and such, and the power of physically writing these goals out is almost always mentioned. I also find that talking about my goals with others helps keep me accountable – no one likes to admit that they’ve given up! I’ve decided to put these ideas together and create a new series here on natalie katherine… get your shit together sunday!

Each Sunday I will be setting out and talking over a few intentions for the week, as well as checking in and reporting on how I did with these goals throughout the week before. I’m starting with a few categories, but we’ll see how those develop over time. Hopefully this series helps to keep me accountable, and inspire others to do the same!

Wellness

I’m not sure if I’ve ever mentioned this, but I regularly see a naturopathy doctor (in addition to my normal doctor), and I’m on an ever-changing roundup of supplements to address any current issues (for example, plant-based iron when I’ve been feeling extra tired). I’ve never been very good at remembering to regularly take these supplements, but I’ve always wondered how much different I would feel if I actually did. I recently had an appointment with my naturopathy doctor, and received my latest order of supplements, so I have a fresh slate. My first goal is to take my supplements every morning and night. I can’t wait to see if I feel the difference!

Home

Last week, I finally mustered up the motivation to clean up my closet/beauty/office room (there are SOME benefits of living with your parents after college, and having this room is one of them…) but that also involved shoving a lot of papers and mail into my desk drawer. I know I will feel so much more organized if I clean out and file away all the papers in my desk drawer, and it will put me in a better starting point to begin organizing on a deeper level.

Career/Finances

For the first time ever this month, I wrote out a calendar of all my blog posts. This way, it made it impossible to let a whole week pass and realize I hadn’t posted anything, and it also helped me to finally get a few posts out that had been floating around in my head but never realized. This week, I need to plan out all my posts for June, so I can start getting things in order and working ahead so I never feel overwhelmed.

It already feels so much better just to have these goals written out – they feel more definitive, and like there’s actually a potential for success. Wish me luck, and good luck to everyone who decides to set some goals of their own!

Leave a comment